

School of Computing and Information Sciences

Committee Assignments 2018-2019

GRADUATE/UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM COMMITTEES

July 11, 2018

Elected Committees

SCIS Human Resources Committee

- Dr. Naphtali Rishe (Chair of Committee)
- Dr. Shu-Ching Chen
- Dr. Xudong He

SCIS Instructor Promotion Committee NTT Representative

- Tim Downey (Chair of Committee)
- Jill Weiss

College of Engineering and Computing Curriculum Committee Representative

• Dr. Ning Xie

College of Engineering and Computing Library Committee Representative

• Dr. Mark Finlayson

College of Engineering and Computing T&P Committee Representative

• Dr. Xudong He

College of Engineering and Computing Awards Committee Representative

• Dr. Peter Clarke

College of Engineering and Computing Faculty Council

- Dr. Bogdan Carbunar (two year term 2017-2019)
- Dr. Jason Liu

College of Engineering and Computing Budget Committee Representative

• Dr. Giri Narasimhan

SCIS Grants/Centers of Excellence

Responsible in establishing centers of excellence in an area of national importance.

- Dr. Naphtali Rishe (Chair of Committee)
- Dr. Shu-Ching Chen
- Dr. S. S. Iyengar
- Dr. Niki Pissinou
- Steve Luis
- Carlos Alonso

SCIS Graduate Program Director

• Dr. Jason Liu

Responsibilities: Coordinate the MS (CS, IT, Telecommunications & Networking & Cyber), and PhD (CS) programs.

SCIS Graduate Program Data Science Interdisciplinary Program Coordinator

• Dr. Giri Narasimhan

SCIS Graduate Program Advisor

- Vanessa Cornwall
- Olga Carbonell (Program Specialist) In charge of processing GA/TA/RA Applications

SCIS Graduate Committee

- Dr. Xudong He (Chair of Committee)
- Dr. Leonardo Bobadilla
- Dr. Peter Clarke
- Dr. Fahad Saeed
- Dr. Ananda Mondal
- Dr. Endadul Hoque

Responsibilities: Graduate admissions/assistantship awards, graduate curriculum.

The Committee meets periodically starting from August as often as needed. It should give notification to prospective candidates by February 1st for Fall Semester and October 1st for Spring Semester. The Committee also makes recommendations for graduate/TA assistantship.

SCIS Graduate Student Seminar Coordinator

- Dr. Liting Hu (Chair of Committee)
- Dr. Dong Chen
- Dr. Mark Finlayson

Responsibilities: Coordinate the graduate student weekly seminars.

SCIS Tenure Track Faculty Hiring Committee

- Dr. Shu-Ching Chen (Chair of the Committee)
- Dr. Alex Afanasyev
- Dr. Leonardo Bobadilla
- Dr. Bogdan Carbunar
- Dr. Fahad Saeed
- Dr. Wei Zeng
- Tiana Solis

SCIS Instructor Hiring Committee

- Dr. Monique Ross (Chair of Committee)
- Cristy Charters
- Dr. Trevor Cickovski
- Dr. Debra Davis
- Jill Weiss

SCIS Seminar Series Coordinators

- Dr. Jason Liu (Chair of the Committee)
- Dr. Dong Chen
- Dr. Endadul Hoque

Distinguished Lecture Series Coordinator NAE Members and other Distinguished Guests

- Dr. S.S. Iyengar (Chair of the Committee)
- Dr. Ananda Mondal
- Dr. Alex Afanasyev
- Dr. Mark Weiss

UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM AND COMMITTEES

Undergraduate Program Committee

- Dr. Nagarajan Prabakar (Chair of Committee & Director)
- Erica Levy
- Mark Weiss
- William Feild
- Dr. Patricia McDermott-Wells
- Dr. Rick Blazek
- Tim Downey
- Dr. Trevor Cicovsky

Responsibilities of Director: Coordinate the BS (CS, IT), BA (IT), and minor (CS) programs, have subcommittees to do review and strategic planning of the curriculum. 2018-2019: Continue review of Undergraduate IT Programs, including the intro sequence COP-2250/COP-3804/CEN-3721 and the role of certifications in this program.

SCIS Undergraduate Course Assessment Coordinator

- Dr. Jai Navlakha (Chair of Committee)
- Richard Whittaker
- Dr. Debra Davis
- Caryl Rahn
- William Feild

SCIS Undergraduate Advising

- Tiana Solis (Chair)
- Myrian Herlle
- Ruth Suarez
- Federico Moscoso
- Jeanely Guzman
- William Solis
- Christian Rivera

SCIS STEM Coordinating Activities

- Dr. Monique Ross (Chair)
- Tiana Solis
- Cristy Charters
- Mario Eraso

SCIS Software Engineering Course SubCommittee

- Dr. Masoud Sadjadi (Chair of Committee)
- Dr. Peter Clarke
- Dr. Xudong He
- Dr. Monique Ross

SCIS Logic for Computer Science and Math Courses Sub-Committee

- Dr. Jun Li (Chair of Committee)
- Dr. Antonio Bajuelos
- Dr. Antonio Hernandez

SCIS Senior Project Coordinator

- Dr. Masoud Sadjadi
- Steve Luis

SCIS Undergraduate CS-0 Type Courses Committee

- Dr. Debra Davis (Chair of the Committee)
- Cristy Charters
- Dr. Antonio Hernandez
- Dr. Farzana Rahman

SCIS Undergraduate CO-OP Coordinator

- Tiana Solis
- Dr. Greg Reiss

SCIS High School and Dual Enrollment Liaison

- Cristy Charters
- Dr. Mario Eraso
- Michael Robinson
- Joslyn Smith (High School programming contest)

SCIS Certification and Hardware Lab Liaison

- Dr. Mario Eraso
- Michael Robinson, with STEM Coordinator

SCIS Programming Team Advisors and coordinators for Ultimate Software Academy

- Dr. Giri Narasimhan (Chair of Committee & Director of Ultimate Software Academy)
- Dr. Nagarajan Prabakar
- Cristy Charters
- Dr. Greg Reiss

VARIOUS DEPARTMENTAL COMMITTEES

SCIS Annual Awards Committee

- Dr. Jai Navlakha (Chair of Committee)
- Dr. Trevor Cickovsky
- Dr. Shu Ching Chen
- Dr. Debra Davis

SCIS Infrastructure Committee

- Steve Luis (Chair of Committee)
- Dr. Alex Afanasyev
- Dr. Peter Clarke
- Dr. Raju Rangaswami
- Greg Shaw

SCIS ACM Student Chapter Faculty Advisor

- Cristy Charters (Chair)
- Dr. Greg Reiss
- Dr. Fahad Saeed

SCIS WICS Student Chapter Faculty Advisors

- Dr. Massoud Milani
- Dr. Monique Ross

SCIS Computer Science Honor Society Advisor

• Dr. Peter Clarke

SCIS Panther Linux User Group Faculty Advisors

- Dr. Nagarajan Prabakar
- Dr. Dong Chen

SCIS Webmaster

• Jean Felisme

SCIS Director of IT/Business Relations

• Steve Luis

SCIS Associate Director Academic Support Services (Discovery Lab, Networking Lab, etc.)

• Jerry Miller, Col.

SCIS Assistant Director, Research Program

• Dr. Scott Graham