Who We Are


Coconut Cup

BOTY and Other Competitions







MASH B.O.T.Y. — 2009

All MASH members are eligible to compete in MASH's Brewer of the Year (B.O.T.Y.) competition. At each month's meeting, a specific style of beer will be judged. Members collect B.O.T.Y. points for finishing first, second, or third in this monthly competition and for receiving awards in some external competitions.

Winners of each monthly B.O.T.Y. competition must submit their recipes for publication on this site to receive their points.

B.O.T.Y runs from December to November of each year. MASH awards for B.O.T.Y are given out at the winter solsitice party.

Click on the brewer's name in the table below to see the winning recipe.

Month Lecturer Category First Second Third
December   Fortified Beer - Added alcohol. Spirits, liquors, brandy, port, etc. Scott & Denise G. Darryl H. Russell E.
January   12. Porter Jeff D. Colin K. and Steve Z. (tie!) tie!
February   11. English Brown Ale Darryl H. and Jeff D. (tie!) tie! none
March   9. Scottish and Irish Ale Jeff D. Darryl H. Jeff D.
April   10. American Ale Steve Z. Colin K. and Jeff D. (tie!)  
May   16. Belgian and French Ale Darryl H. Jeff D.  
June   14. India Pale Ale Darryl H. Scott & Denise G. Eric J.
July   6. & 7. Hybrid Beers Colin K. - Amer. Wheat Steve Z. - Cream Ale Steve Z. - Amer. Wheat
August   15. German Wheat and Rye Beer Darryl H. Darryl H.  
September   Mead Darryl H. Darryl H.  
October   5. Bock Jeff D.    
November   18.Belgian Strong Ale      
December (2010 BotY)   19. Strong Ale      

Final 2009 Standings

  1. Darryl H. — 44 points (36 points BotY, 8 points Coconut Cup)
  2. Jeff D. — 36 points (25 points BotY, 5 points Coconut Cup, 3 points Hurricane Blowoff, 3 points Commander SAAZ)
  3. Russell E. — 31 points (1 point BotY, 11 points Coconut Cup, 14 points Hurricane Blowoff, 5 points Hogtown Brewoff)
  4. Scott & Denise — 13 points (8 points BotY, 5 points Coconut Cup)
  5. Steve Z. — 12 points (11 points BotY, 1 point Coconut Cup)
  6. Colin K. — 10 points (9 points BotY, 1 point Coconut Cup)
  7. Bob B. — 3 points (3 points Coconut Cup)
  8. Joshua K. — 3 points (3 points Commander SAAZ)
  9. Scott R. — 1 point (1 point Coconut Cup)
  10. Eric J. — 1 point (1 point BotY)

Past B.O.T.Y. winners

1996 Scott Ross
1997 Scott Ross
1998 Mark Swenson
1999 F&G (Bob Fischer & Scott Graham)
2000 Joe Berryman
2001 Peter Buschbaum
2002 Denise and Scott Graham
2003 Denise and Scott Graham
2004 Patrick Gibson
2005 Darryl Hickey
2006 Russell Everett
2007 Russell Everett
2008 Denise and Scott Graham

Page maintained by Eric Johnson & Scott Graham. Last updated October 27th, 2009.