Who We Are


Coconut Cup

BOTY and Other Competitions







MASH B.O.T.Y. — 2012

All MASH members are eligible to compete in MASH's Brewer of the Year (B.O.T.Y.) competition. At each month's meeting, a specific style of beer will be judged. Members collect B.O.T.Y. points for finishing first, second, or third in this monthly competition and for receiving awards in BJCP-sanctioned external competitions.

Points Awarded for MASH BOTY competitions are currently:

Points Awarded for external competitions are currently:

Winners of each monthly B.O.T.Y. competition must submit their recipes for publication on this site to receive their points.

B.O.T.Y runs from December to November of each year. MASH awards for B.O.T.Y are given out at the winter solsitice party.

Click on the brewer's name in the table below to see the winning recipe.

Month Lecturer Category First Second Third
December   21.b. Christmas/Winter Specialty Spiced Beer S&D G. TIE: J&A B. and Dave & Bob
January   12. Porter TIE: Dave & Bob and S&D G.
February   Commercial Clone - Little Sumpin' Sumpin' Dave & Bob
March   6C. Kolsch Dave & Bob
April   7A. and 7C. Alt Dave & Bob
May   5. Bock Dave & Bob
June   14. India Pale Ale (IPA) TIE: Dave & Bob and J&A B.
July   7B. California Common Beer Dave & Bob J&A B. TIE: two entries from Darryl H.
August   Mead S&D G. S&D G.
September   9. Scottish and Irish Ale Dave & Bob ??? ???
October   15. German Wheat and Rye Beer Dave & Bob
November   22. Smoke-flavored and Wood-aged Beer TIE: Dave & Bob and S&D G. Rolland B.
December (2013 BotY)   23. Specialty Beer

Current (2012) Standings

  1. Dave & Bob — 80 points (54 points BotY, 7 points BFBC, 4 points Coconut Cup, 9 points Hogtown Brew-Off, 5 points First Coast Cup, 1 entry)
  2. S&D G. — 39 points (24 points BotY, 11 points Coconut Cup, 4 points Hurricane Blowoff)
  3. J&A B. — 33 points (13 points BotY, 4 points Coconut Cup, 12 points Hurricane Blowoff, 4 points Hogtown Brew-Off)
  4. Patrick W. — 7 points (2 points BotY (entries), 5 points Coconut Cup)
  5. Darryl H. — 6 points (6 points BotY)
  6. Danny A. — 4 points (4 points Hurricane Blowoff)
  7. Rolland B. — 4 points (4 points BotY)

Past B.O.T.Y. winners

1996 Scott Ross
1997 Scott Ross
1998 Mark Swenson
1999 F&G (Bob Fischer & Scott Graham)
2000 Joe Berryman
2001 Peter Buschbaum
2002 Denise and Scott Graham
2003 Denise and Scott Graham
2004 Patrick Gibson
2005 Darryl Hickey
2006 Russell Everett
2007 Russell Everett
2008 Denise and Scott Graham
2009 Darryl Hickey
2010 Josh Kritzer
2011 Jon Britton

Page maintained by Eric Johnson & Scott Graham. Last updated August 29th, 2012.