Who We Are


Coconut Cup

BOTY and Other Competitions







MASH B.O.T.Y. — 2010

All MASH members are eligible to compete in MASH's Brewer of the Year (B.O.T.Y.) competition. At each month's meeting, a specific style of beer will be judged. Members collect B.O.T.Y. points for finishing first, second, or third in this monthly competition and for receiving awards in BJCP-sanctioned external competitions.

Points Awarded for MASH BOTY competitions are currently:

Points Awarded for external competitions are currently:

Winners of each monthly B.O.T.Y. competition must submit their recipes for publication on this site to receive their points.

B.O.T.Y runs from December to November of each year. MASH awards for B.O.T.Y are given out at the winter solsitice party.

Click on the brewer's name in the table below to see the winning recipe.

Month Lecturer Category First Second Third
December   19. Strong Ale S&D G. Eric J.
January   Open Best of Show Josh K. Darryl H. Josh K.
February   15. German Wheat & Rye Beer Josh K. S&D G.
March   10. American Ale and 14. IPA Jon B. Eric J. Josh K.
April   12. Porter and 13. Stout Eric J. Josh K. Jon B.
May   11. English Brown Ale and 8. English Pale Ale Josh K. Jon B. and S&D G. (tie!)
June   16. Belgian and French Ale S&D G. Josh K. Colin K.
July   17. Sour Ale Colin K.
August   Mead Chris & Jake S&D G.
September   7. Amber Hybrid and 3. European Amber Lager Josh K. Jon B. S&D G.
October   21. Spice/Herb/Vegetable Josh K.
November   22. Smoke-Flavored & Wood-Aged Beer Josh K. Jon B. and S&D G. (tie!)

Final 2010 Standings

  1. Josh K. (78 points - 8 points BFBC, 4 points Coconut Cup, 3 points Hurricane Blowoff, 15 points Cmdr. SAAZ, 3 points Sunshine Challenge)
  2. S&D G. (61 points - 20 points Coconut Cup, 5 points Hurricane Blowoff, 5 points Hogtown Brew-Off)
  3. Jon B. (21 points)
  4. Eric J. (19 points - 5 points Hogtown Brew-Off)
  5. Colin K. (16 points - 8 points Coonut Cup)
  6. Darryl H. (8 points - 3 points Coconut Cup)
  7. Chris & Jake (5 points)
  8. Jeff D. (4 points - 4 points Coconut Cup) (tie)
    Bob F. (4 points - 4 points Coconut Cup) (tie)
  9. Neiferts Ale. (3 points)

Past B.O.T.Y. winners

1996 Scott Ross
1997 Scott Ross
1998 Mark Swenson
1999 F&G (Bob Fischer & Scott Graham)
2000 Joe Berryman
2001 Peter Buschbaum
2002 Denise and Scott Graham
2003 Denise and Scott Graham
2004 Patrick Gibson
2005 Darryl Hickey
2006 Russell Everett
2007 Russell Everett
2008 Denise and Scott Graham
2009 Darryl Hickey

Page maintained by Eric Johnson & Scott Graham. Last updated November 24th, 2010.